Three weeks after a dramatic round of presidential and National Assembly elections, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) again takes centre stage for the conduct of governorship and state house of assembly polls across the country.

The state-centred elections were initially scheduled for March 11. But the fallout of the federal elections set back reconfiguration of the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) devices, prompting a one-week delay.

READ ALSO: Game-Changer: How BVAS Turned Heavyweights To Paperweights

Amid hopes of a hitch-free exercise, Nigerians finally troop out to various polling units to cast their votes for their candidates of choice. According to INEC, a total of 87.2 million are eligible to vote, having collected their permanent voter cards (PVCs).


Of the 36 states, governorship polls will be held in 28, namely Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Cross River, Delta, Ebonyi, Enugu, Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kwara, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Ogun, Oyo, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, and Zamfara.

READ ALSO: Police Ban Vigilante Operatives From Participating In Election Duties

As for the state legislatures, all 36 states are the home bases of thousands competing for 993 state house of assembly seats.

KOKO TV will keep you up to speed with all the latest information. Refresh this page for more updates.

See also  I’ll Expose Ex-govs Who Looted Kaduna Resources — El-Rufai


Trending video of the day;

Photo Credit: Getty

Source link